About VHEC
Our Programs
Contact Us
Return to: News

Vermont Campus Compact Honors Campus-Community Engagement

May 03, 2017
Vermont Campus Compact Honors Campus-Community Engagement

Vermont college students, faculty, and staff gathered on Friday April 7th, 2017 at the Community College of Vermont's Montpelier Campus to celebrate individual contributions and the collective impact of higher education in service to Vermont.

The event began with a welcome from David Evans, President of Southern Vermont College and VHEC Board Chair.  Evans remarked on the importance of civic engagement and noted that VHEC is thrilled to host Vermont Campus Compact. 

The opening welcome was followed by a panel on "Civically Engaged Careers" which will spotlighted the experience of four young professionals, each of whom have incorporated civic engagement into their professional lives.  The panelists included:

·         Colin Robinson, Political Director at the Vermont National Education Association

·         Gwen Pokalo, Director of the Center for Women & Enterprise Vermont

·         Dana Gulley, MBA Student in Sustainable Entrepreneurship at the University of Vermont

·         Robyn Baylor, AmeriCorps VISTA Program Director at SerVermont

The panelists answered questions and shared stories to inspire civically engaged undergraduate students to continue that engagement as they progress in with their professional careers.

After lunch, VHEC honored civically engaged students, faculty, staff, and organizations in three award categories.


The Engaged Educator Award is given to a faculty member who has made public service an integral part of their teaching and research to the benefit of both students and the community. This year's finalists are listed below and the winners were Laurel Butler of Vermont Technical College and Kelly Hamshaw of the University of Vermont.

·         Laurel Butler, Vermont Technical College

·         Kelly Hamshaw, University of Vermont  

·         Kathy Fox, University of Vermont

·         Moise St. Louis, Saint Michael's College

·         Allison Cleary, Saint Michael's College

·         Robin Collins, Champlain College

·         Faith Yacubian, Champlain College

·         Shawna Shapiro, Middlebury College


The Engaged Student Awards are given to one student or student group at any Vermont campus for both the breadth and depth of their community involvement.  This year, the following students received these awards:

·         Kimberly Payne, Community College of Vermont

·         Chelsea Colby, Middlebury College

·         D. Sydney Rybicki and Erin Buckley, Saint Michael's College

·         Sarah Franco, Champlain College

·         Morgan Easton, Vermont Technical College

·         Elizabeth Boley, University of Vermont

·         Shanely Marmolejos, Southern Vermont College

The Engaged Partnership Award is given to honor a partnership between a community organization and Vermont campuses that has been leveraged to address real and pressing community needs.  This year's finalists are listed below and the winner was Open Door Clinic for their partnership with Middlebury College.

·         Elise Schadler of Urban and Community Forestry for her partnership with the University of Vermont

·         Open Door Clinic for their partnership with Middlebury College

·         St. Joseph's Residential Care Home for their partnership with Saint Michael's College

The event concluded with remarks by VHEC’s Executive Director, Carrie Williams Howe. To learn more about the work being done by students, faculty, and campuses to positively impact our local and global communities, visit VHEC’s website

VHEC Partners